The 2020 South African National Road Championships started today at the Swadini Forever Resort, in the Mpumalanga province of South Africa. ProTouch Continental Pro Cycling will be represented in both the Elite & U23 time trial (7 February 2020) and road race (9 February 2020) categories at this years championships.
The U23/ Elite riders will cover a distance of 175km over 5 laps of the racing circuit on Sunday 9 February, while the Individual Time Trial will cover 36km on Friday 7 February 2020. The route provides a flat and rolling terrain and will be suited to punchy-type rouleur riders – anyone with that ability as well as a good kick in the sprint, will be licking their lips.
The two times defending champion, will be on the start line again, and judging by Daryl Impey’s form at the Tour Down Under he will definitely have a huge target on his back. European-based rider Ryan Gibbons, who finished 2nd in 2019 will have a strong team to support him and this will make for interesting racing.
South African-based mountain bike team, NAD Racing have been putting in the long training miles and the route is familiar to them as they use it for many training rides. Matt Beers must be their favourite and I’m sure we will see the NAD jersey in the mix at the front of the race. Our local riders are also starting to show some great form and the race will be one, of who can stay at the front of the peleton the longest. The racing is going to be fast and furious and, for those spectating it is going to be really exciting.
“A team that rides together and commits to their pre-planned goal, should comfortably occupy a position on the podium”, commented Tony Harding, Team Principal.
Having just returned from UCI 2.1 Tropicale Amissa Bongo in Gabon, ProTouch have some in great form riders. Our full squad for the road race on Sunday consists of: Jayde Julius, Kent Main, Gustav Basson, Rohan du Plooy, Reynard Butler, Calvin Beneke, HB Kruger, James Fourie, Mitch Eliot and Callum Ormiston. Kent Main, Rohan du Plooy, Jayde Julius, Gustav Basson and Callum Ormiston (U23) will be participating in the Time Trial tomorrow.
Good luck to everyone and safe riding.
About ProTouch ProCycling
Founded in 2016, PROTOUCH™ Continental ProCycling is the number one team in Africa, ranked in the Top 5 (based on UCI Points) in Asia and is ranked in the Top 40 Continental Teams in the World.

PROTOUCH™ is a brand, focussed solely on enabling South African Road Cyclists to perform on the World Stage. Its aim is to revolutionize Professional Cycling for South African riders, by building a sustainable business that supports high performance cycling.

Competing in 2019 alongside top African, Asian, American and European Continental and Pro Continental Teams, PROTOUCH™ has competed in twenty UCI events, in thirteen countries on four continents and completed over 11 500km of racing. The Team finished off the season with four stage wins, four Sprinters Classification Jerseys, nine Top 10 General Classification finishes, sixty-eight Top 10 stage finishes, thirty-two Top 20 finishes and, a Gold/ Silver Medal at Africa Games.

Three PROTOUCH™ riders are currently in the Top 10 UCI [South Africa] rankings amongst South African World Tour Riders such as Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott), Ryan Gibbons, Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg, and Stefan de Bod (NTT ProCycling) and there are six ProTouch riders in the Top 20 South Africa rankings.


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2020 ProTouch Sports (Pty) Limited. All Rights Reserved. Powered by 

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?